How do you approach your card making and what are your favourite tools to use

 For all my Crafty Card Making Friends and Fellow Bloggers

a short questionnaire and GIVEAWAY

 

Hi All,

I was recently  asked to assess a pack of pretty card making paper and to come up with a few designs using said papers.  Now I can pretty much create a card from anything, but this paper is pretty specific and once I started, I realised that for some people the task could be quite difficult. Further into the assignment I realised it was going to be quite difficult for me too.

It set me to wondering what is that essential element that I need to create a card.  I love co-ordinating products.  I love sturdy card bases, can’t be doing with flopsy mopsy cardstock. I also require a really crisp cutting guillotine or paper trimmer.  Stamps have become an essential element for me too, and if co-ordinating dies are available, I know I can create something really stunning.

Techniques available to cardmakers are varied and many.  I like to ink sponge the edges of my embellished or stamped piece before matting.  A modicum of fussy cutting doesn’t go astray if dies are not available. Matting is used to enhance colours in the design and inks I choose to work with. Greetings are important, sometimes I put the greeting inside the card sometimes on the front of the card.

Class samples 6.3.14  & Explosion box 001

Depending on the style of card I make – I may also create a one layer card sometimes allowing the design to speak for itself. The card below is simply a piece of pretty designer paper mounted straight onto the card front and embellished with a greeting, some diamontès and a 1/8″ ribbon bow.

Easter Card for Dad

When it comes to embellishment, I reach for diamontès, glitter paper, small sequins 3, 4 or 5mm, sometimes a glossing agent such as Glossy Accents, thin ribbons (my preference is something no wider  than 3/8″).  I also like to use Versamark and embossing powders with a heat tool.

DSC02141

Colouring is also high on my list for making my designs really come to life. My watercolouring skills are something I want to improve, but since a card is quite a small canvas, I can manage to create something pretty with the skills I currently have. No masterpieces yet, but I do enjoy it.  I also use copic markers and coloured pencils both watercolour and otherwise.

Ribbon on duct tape binding album K's card 004

I wonder if you would spare a few minutes of your time to answer some questions. I am trying to get a better understanding of what the quintessential card maker requires for his/her crafting needs especially card makers.   N.B.  Comments close on July 7th.

  1. Apart from the obvious things like cardstock and pretty designer papers, what are your top 5 that you couldn’t do without in your card making process?
  2. Are your cards generally one layer or do you prefer to add many layers and lots of embellishment?
  3. Do you use stamps, how important are they to your cards?
  4. Do you use Dies, how important are they to your cards?
  5. Do you use a die cutting machine?
  6. What is your favourite embellishment, the thing you always reach for?
  7. Glue or double sided tape? What is your preference?
  8. Do you fussy cut elements from other papers to make layers for your cards or to embellish them?
  9. What size cards do you usually make, do you make your own envelopes or buy them in packs with scored cards all ready to go?
  10. What type of inks do you prefer to use? Why are they your favourites?

Anyone who takes the time to answer my questionnaire will go in a draw to win a selection of beautiful 6″ x 6″ designer papers and cardstock scored and ready to make beautiful cards.

I thank you in advance for taking the time to answer my questions.  I know that the card making field is mega huge and we all have different ideas, budgets and requirements.

Happy Crafting

Barbara

23 thoughts on “How do you approach your card making and what are your favourite tools to use

  1. I always appreciate handmade cards. We have several ladies in our church group do make stampin cards. one lady has it as her business. Every year, she sells enough stamps to win a convention trip. I received quite a few during my 6-months cancer treatment time. I treasure them and still have them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds to me as though your friend is a Stampin’ UP! demonstrator. I did that for 5 years and I loved it. It is so nice to receive a handmade card and I’m so pleased that your friends sent them to you during a difficult time. They are treasures, I keep all mine too. X

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m more of a handmade card admirer than a maker. All of the cards you featured today are gorgeous. If I’m pressed for a favorite type, I like the ones with layers best.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 1. my score board, my silhouette cameo, exacto knife
    2. One layer , pop up or have some sort of movement
    3.would love to use stamps but have no success with them looking like what i really wnat
    4.love sizzix die but now silhouette takes the place of most of them
    5. sizzix
    6. gems then grommets and brads
    7. glue
    8. Silhouette cameo to fussy cut
    9.4 x 6 but various and make my own envelope
    10. used distress but not huge stamper so no reason why, just someone recommended on a video and I bought

    Like

  4. I found this really interesting. I’m going to answer your questions, but I don’t know how to get them to you. Copying and pasting as a comment seems like it would drown things

    Like

    1. Hi ISC, if you comment here, just put the number of the question and your short response. That would be fine. I will have to scroll through them all. I may put an end date on the post too. I didn’t think of that at the time of posting. I don’t really need indepth answers. It’s a fun thing really. Thank you so much for responding and good luck in the draw.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 1 – good scissors, basic dies which are too hard to cut without (circles, ovals, hearts), cutting knife and craft mat, essential inks (black and brown, dye, permanent and pigment), essential sentiment stamps

        2 – I try to do one layer if I need to post it, but really struggle, most of mine are 3-4 layers somehow, I always mat and layer

        3 – yes, in pretty much events card. Sometimes as main feature, most sentiments are stamped

        4 – yes, but not that often. I use basic shapes most for matting and lager, although much less since getting a Scan’N’Cut. Fancy focal dies are in less than 1/4 of my makes

        5 – yes a Big Shot

        6 – ribbons – so versatile, masculine if needed, hide oopses…

        7 – I use both. Tape runners are quicker, but glue can hold better. Tacky glue is wonderful

        8 – occasionally, but not often

        9 – I usually use prescored with envelopes, I like altering the shapes, but not keen on making card blanks. I use 6×6, 7×7 and 8×8 squares, 6×6 is my favourite, and A6, 7×5 and A5 rectangles, 7×5 are my favourite. I also love DL

        10 – depends on the material being stamped onto, but my go tos are a Hobbycraft black which was really cheap but seems to work on most things, and a DoCrafts brown which stamps brilliantly

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you so much for answering my little questionnaire. I also find it really difficult to stick to one layer cards and I think matting makes such a difference. I have put you in the draw. Thanks again.

    Like

  6. Good questions Barbara. Here are my thoughts…
    1. Top 5: An accurate trimmer/cutter, scissors, tweezers, die-cutting machine/basic die shapes and a ruler (yes I’m one of those crafters who likes to measure everything 🙂 ).
    2. Layers & texture .
    3. I definitely use stamps – very much a high priority on my cards.
    4. I love diecuts too – very much a high priority on my cards (can’t stand fussy cutting!)
    5. Yes, BigShot and a Brother Scan ‘n Cut
    6. Ribbon/lace/twine
    7. Depends on the project and I use all sorts of adhesive: tapes, glue dots, foam dots & tombow multi purpose liquid glue are used on most of my projects but my ATG is my go to adhesive (because it’s quick to use & strong adhesive).
    8. I really don’t like fussy cutting. Thank goodness for dies & the Scan ‘n Cut.
    9. My standard card sizes: A6 (folded A5) or 14cm square. I buy my envelopes but occasionally make my own using the Envelope Punch Board for odd sized cards.
    10. Favourite Inks: Memento for alcohol marker colouring, StazOn for watercolouring, Stampin’ Up! dye inks for nearly everything else and Brilliance inks if I need a metallic ink.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lovely post Barb.

    1. Stamps, Masking tape, Score board, Cut’n’dry sponge, Colouring pencils, Punches, Die cutting.

    2. Both. Depends on the techniques used, purpose and who the card is for.

    3. Mostly stamps. Depends on the style of card.

    4. Yes, for embellishments and a for a nice finish.

    5. Yes – Big Shot.

    6. Ephemera, buttons and lace. Anything from my stash to suit the purpose.

    7. Household double sided tape.

    8. Depends on the quality and thickness of the paper. If the paper is really pretty but too thin, I will glue it on a thicker piece of card to make an embellishment.

    9. Varies. Usually not a standard size. Make my own envelopes or boxes with a score board.

    10. Various inks for different purposes. Staz-on for stamping onto wood and coated or glossy card stock. Archival permanent inks for stamping onto wood, watercolour paper and for general stamping onto most card stock. Distress Inks for stamping onto Coated card stock, colouring images and for making inky background papers. Versa magic, Embossing inks. Momentos for general purposes but depends on the cards stock.

    Barb, I have completed this. Please do not put my name in the draw. If, I was lucky enough to be picked out of the hat, I wouldn’t want you to go to the expense of sending papers and card to me in Spain.

    Have a wonderful weekend.
    Hugs Flo xx

    Like

    1. Florence, thank you so much for taking time to fill out my little questionnaire. If you are sure about the draw I won’t put you in, but I had every intention of honouring anyone who commented. Let me know if you change your mind. xx

      Like

  8. 1.Stamps, die cutting machine, scissors and pens (especially my white snow to highlight stamps)

    2 I love layered cards and often use mirror gold for mats

    3. Love stamps especially for sentiments

    4. If not using stamps I will use a die for the focus or a card kit. I don’t have a great number of dies but my go to are circles or leaves for flourishes.

    5.I have a tiny machine but hope to upgrade soon

    6. I love pearl embellishments

    7. Double sided tape

    8. I love to fussy cut

    9. I make all shapes and sizes and love to use adorable storable card to create different cards.

    10. I love my rare earth inks so vivid and wide range of colours

    Like

  9. 1. A tape runner or double sided tape. 2. Rubber Stamps & Ink 3. Die Cuts and Cutting Machine. 4. Scissors 5. Materials to color with. Watercolors, pencils, pens, markers.
    2. I like layering. I would choose lots of layers, over many embellishments.
    3. I ALWAYS use stamps! Super important.
    4. I ALWAYS use dies.
    5. I own a Sizzix Big Kick Machine.
    6. Ribbon
    7. Double sided tape or tape runner. Its quick and easy!
    8. Sometimes I fussy cut. Not if I’m making a batch of Christmas cards. (at least 10 cards)
    9. I buy a pack of pre scored cards and envelopes. Usually 5×7. Will cut to smaller size if needed.
    10. I LOVE VersaFine black ink. It’s amazing for detailed stamps. For colored ink, I use Tim Holtz Distress ink. I like it because it produces vibrant color and he has several color options available.

    Like

    1. Hi Amber, thank you for joining in my little questionnaire and for the follow. I have popped you into my draw, which will be closing tomorrow. I shall post results as soon as the draw is done. I appreciate your input.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

