“Less is More” Butterfly cards

Sometimes I forget to use the gorgeous designer papers that I have. I get caught up in the stamping and matching dies, and it is only when I am finished that I realise my huge stash of gorgeous paper is still intact.  This weekend I set about changing that, so I set a personal challenge to make some cards using pretty papers and very little else.  For my focal images I selected some of the new Card Papers from Meg’s Garden which depict butterflies.  I chose matching cardstock to offset the designs and to add some interest.

To enhance my cards I used Stitched square and rectangular Dies.  All of my cards are similar in design, but each is also unique in its own way.

Card  No.1 – Shown next to original 6″ x 6″ paper.   I didn’t want to waste anything, so I also cut the lower butterfly to use inside my card.

Card I Megs card pack - Copy

Card No. 2 – Shown with original paper.  I added a 1/4″scored border around the outside of the layered pieces.  The feather was fussy cut from the same piece of paper.

Card 2 Megs Card packs Butterflies - Copy

Card No. 3 – I added more scored lines around the outside of the card. Card 3 Meg's Card Paclks Butterflies - Copy

All three cards together:

card 4 butterflies

 

The hardest part of making these cards was deciding on the shape and orientation in order make the most of the papers.  Butterflies are favourites for card makers and I think you will agree these are lovely with their soft pastel shades.

I hope you enjoyed this idea of ‘less is more.’

Items used:

  • “In the Watercolour Garden” S137 and S137-2 Paper packs
  • Stitched Dies
  • Cardstock: White, grey, taupe and tangerine

Happy Monday and Happy Crafting Everyone.

31 thoughts on ““Less is More” Butterfly cards

    1. I agree totally. Sometimes in our efforts to create we go overboard. Less is more is a great lesson. Someone told me once when you are getting ready to go out somewhere special and you are putting on your dress and your shoes and earrings and other jewellery – to stop and remove something before going out, (we usually overdo it). For me it was always a necklace – I have many, they never see the light of day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I love your faith in me but-no. I am terribly Sammy at anything that involves craftiness. I can envision it in my mind, but I can’t make it to save my life!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

