So very sad to say

Black Cat last day

R.I.P.

Beautiful Black Cat Girl

Couple of weeks ago, I detected a lump on the side of her face. A visit to the Vet confirmed that this wasn’t normal and a needle aspiration was taken and sent to the lab. At the weekend I learned that Black Cat had a very aggressive form of cancer with a long name that I can’t pronounce or even remember.  We spent the weekend knowing that this would be our last with our lovely girl and so we made the most of it before our appointment on Monday.

She left us peacefully having enjoyed a wonderful 16 years with us.  Here are a few photo’s from our final weekend.

 

I can’t even begin to tell you how difficult it was knowing the weekend was our last, and I miss her so much. Her sister seems to be coping ok.  In the end, with the prognosis we were given I know it was the right decision, but that didn’t make it any easier.

Blackcatgirl

 

Barbara

 

40 thoughts on “So very sad to say

  1. Oh no…how sad! Yes, obviously the right decision, but that doesn’t stop the hurt, does it? The queen of my heart (yes, a cat) died 10 months ago – and I still miss her (we got two kittens in January, but they’re not the same even though they’re lovely). Eventually the sadness will recede, but she’ll always live in your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, yes I think she will be following me around for a very long time. I’m so sorry your lost your darling too. I still have my lovely fluffy cat to chat with, so all is not lost.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss Barbara. In the past two years I’ve had to put down one of my cats and my dog – in both situations it was for the best so they wouldn’t be suffering but it was still hard so I know how it feels.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Emma, it would be nice if they lived as long as us and we could all go together wouldn’t it. That’s a perfect world and we are far from having that. I shall miss her so much. I’m sorry for your sad losses too.

    Like

    1. Thank you, yes it’s a painful experience but anyone who invites an animal into their life and home has to prepare themselves I suppose. So glad you stopped by with your lovely comment and I am sorry for the losses you have had too. x

      Like

  4. Oh, Barbara, I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your Beautiful Black cat girl. You are in my thoughts and prayers. It is the right decision, its just a hard one. The other fluffy beauty will keep you busy for sure.Big hugs! XXX

    Like

  5. Dearest Barbara, I’m so sorry to read about your cat being called home before you wanted her to go.

    It ‘s a very difficult decision to make, I know. I had to make this same decision a few months ago, for my elderly cat – Bunty Bagpuss, who was 22 years old. Pain and distress isn’t something I would wish on any animal as we cannot explain to them, and they can’t tell us. So please know that you made the right decision for the right reasons.

    I am thinking of you and sending you love, from one pet owner to another.
    Black Cat will never leave your heart, so she’ll be with you forever – until you meet again.
    God Bless, Barbara.
    love ~ Cobs. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Cobs, thank you so much for stopping by with this lovely message. 22 years, my goodness what a great life for Bunty Bagpuss. I hope with all my heart that we do indeed meet up with all the pets and people we loved in this life. Love Barbara x

      Liked by 1 person

  6. On Barbara, my heart aches for you. I am so deeply sorry for your loss. 16 years is a long time to spend with such a loyal. loving companion. And having known it was her last weekend I can only imagine how hard that was. I hope you find comfort in knowing you freed her of suffering and gave her the gift of your love for 16 years! I wish you peace and send you warm thoughts during this heavy time of loss. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it is quite devastating really but our pets have a relatively short life. I do find comfort in knowing we did the absolute best thing for her. I should not have enjoyed watching her go through all sorts of procedures and for what, to keep her with me. That would have been very selfish of me.xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh Barbara, I’m so sorry for your loss. Understandably a difficult decision to make, but you made the right choice as she is no longer suffering. My thoughts are with you during this difficult time. Take care of yourself.

    Like

  8. Oh Barbara how very very sad. You are going to miss her like crazy, as I think we all will. But the best thing is that she couldn’t have had better people to look after her. Take care of yourself, Barry and fluffy girl. Love the photo’s. With sadness Sheila ________________________________

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sheila, it happened so fast no time to get used to the idea really. Even knowing it was for the best doesn’t help a great deal, the sadness is still there all the time at the moment. XX

      Like

  9. Oh gosh, I am so very sorry for your loss, Barbara. Pets are just like family. She lived such a long and wonderful life, though. 🙂 My thoughts are with you during this hard time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lindsey, it is quite painful and is still in my mind all the time. Her sister is following me around more and is clearly confused as to where she is. We shall get through this though. x

      Like

  10. I “m so sorry to know that you lost your darling. Long time ago, I had a lovely white one. He left home and never come back.
    My dog seemed missing him more than I did. Whenever I say “Snow ball” to him, he would wander around the room to look for his pal!

    Like

    1. Thanks Myra, yes my other cat is looking for her buddy too. It’s so difficult because you can’t explain things to them. No doubt the memory will gradually fade. She doesn’t have to compete for the spot next to me on the sofa any more.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! Dogs have their own spots too! Our two grandsons each has a dog. They always go to their own bed. And so is their own meal bowel too!

        Like

  11. Dear Barbara ,just saw your sad news. Sorry to hear you lost your beloved Black Cat. It is always so sad when you loose one’s pet. Love Renate X

    Like

  12. My heart goes out to you. I lost my beautiful black cat on January 16th, this year, to a similar prognosis. I still miss him terribly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

