It’s my Brother’s Birthday

And It’s a special one, so I had to make something a little special.  This card is 5″ x 7″.

Len's Card

I thought I would share with you my method for making the background.

The card itself is made from a piece of drawing paper which I trimmed to 10″ x 7″ and scored at 5″.  I wasn’t sure what medium I would be using when I started so it seemed like a good idea to use something that gave me a few options.  I didn’t end up using any watercolour but I do like the heft of the card and the slight textured finish. This is the sketch pad I used.sketchbook

Step 1. I started by masking off the rectangular area with 1″ low tack painters tape.   I left a larger border at the bottom of the card so that I could stamp the greeting.

 

masking-added.jpg

Step 2. Collage Stamping – Using one of my favourite Stampin’ UP! stamps, Off the Grid” (ret). which I stamped twice. I turned the stamp so that I didn’t get two identical images next to each other.

Off the Grid added

Step 3. Adding more stamped images using Tim Holtz Collection “Shabby French” I used the three script stamps and placed them randomly around the card.

Adding more collage stamps   Tim Holts Collage set

Step 4. I selected a few mini Distress Ink pads also from Tim Holtz and the small Ranger round ink blending tool for this step. Ink colours used are Antique linen, Wild Honey and Spiced Marmalade.  I was not looking for a well blended finish at this stage because the final colour Vintage Photo would finish off the edges perfectly.

 

 

Step 5.  Versamark and Embossing:  On my brothers card I used copper embossing and copper foil paper for the numbers.  For this card which has a brighter background, I decided to use gold embossing powder. The stamp is from Stampin’ UP! and is called Flowering Flourishes.

Final image

I think you can make out the gold embossed image sitting on the top here. Trust me it does have some shine, but I am on the look out for some really nice gold embossing powder.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I added some black rhinestones and a greeting on my brothers card, which you can see in the top image.

 

I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial and give this technique a try yourself.

 

Happy Crafting everyone and don’t forget it is World Card Making Day on October the 7th.  Make cards with your friends, or just head into your own crafting space and make a card for someone.  Barbara

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “It’s my Brother’s Birthday

  1. Wishing your brother a happy birthday! He will be thrilled with your effort. Absolutely beautiful!!

    Like

  2. Hi Barbara, that is a lovely card( as usual). I have to try and copy that for my boys birthday, just two different ones. See you soon. R. X

    Sent from my HTC

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought we would make one in class as I recalled you saying you need to make a card for your sons. Thank you for your lovely comment Renate.

      Like

    1. Hi Therese, it turned out well and is a technique that can be used to great effect on many cards. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a lovely comment. Barbara

      Like

Leave a Reply

