Christmas Cards

Three Robin Christmas cards

The cute robins are from a stamp set from Clearly Besotted, they come with matching dies which always makes things easier for those who do not enjoy fussy cutting.  I have added a list of products used at the end of this post.

The two smaller cards are just 4″ square. One is on a Kraft card base, the other is white patterned cardstock which I reinforced inside to make it a little more robust.

Two Robins Xmas card

The pretty background paper is from Stampin’ UP!  I coloured the robins with Polychromo colouring pencils (I am not the best at colouring).  The tiny Santa hat comes with the stamp set as does the tree stump.  I handcut the frame from a piece of gessoed canvas and the leaves are cut from a Memory Box Christmas tree die.  A few silver micro beads to represent the ground and a small greeting from Penny Black’s Snippets Stamp Set finish this card.

One robin card

The Branch Die from Memory Box was cut from glitter paper with leaves from the Memory Box Christmas Tree die.  Again I handcut a tiny frame from canvas and placed my robin in front of it.  A few sequins, a tiny greeting, and voila!

White card Christmas Tree

This card is 3 3/4′ x 7 3/4″  I cut two Memory Box dies from the Elyse Christmas Tree, one from silver cardstock and one in white.  I glued them together slightly off centre of each other so that a glimpse of the silver can be seen behind the white. Another handcut canvas frame and a tiny sentiment from Penny Black completes this card.

List of products used:

  • White Background Paper Stampin’ UP!
  • Kraft A4 Cardstock
  • Memory Box Dies: Elyse Christmas Tree and Woodland Branch
  • Stamp Sets:  Clearly Besotted “Red Robin” and Matching Dies
  • Penny Black “Snippets” greetings stamps

How are you going with your Christmas cards this year?   Do you send cards at all?  If it wasn’t for running my card making classes I would probably not have started mine yet.  I tend not to make multiples of the same card, but make individual cards as the mood or inspiration strikes. I do enjoy making Christmas cards but find myself steering clear more and more of the snowy scenes. Being mid summer in Australia when Christmas comes, it seems a little pointless, although I do really love the look of them.  I do send cards overseas to family, so I can indulge in the winter scenes with those.

I wish you all a lovely weekend whatever you are doing.  Have fun.

Happy Crafting All.

Barbara

 

 

20 thoughts on “Christmas Cards

  1. These are so pretty.It is hard for me to get my mind around a summer Christmas. Isn’t it funny how we take things for granted, like cold and christmas going together. Could be we are doing things wrong to begin with, Who knows.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Who knows indeed! I think we have forgotten what it really represents. I do love Christmas and making cards is a highlight for me. Christmas in summer is why they invented Christmas in July, but for me it just doesn’t cut it. Thank you for lovely comment. Barbara

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These are gorgeous Barbara! I think the only reason I have some Christmas cards made is due to the teams that I am on. I do enjoy making them though and I have built the bridge and do make winter scenes but it took me a while. Hugs x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Therese, yes I find myself vacillating about it all the time. Coming from England I have much experience of Wintery Christmasses spent with my largish family, usually at my parents home. I have such fond memories of those days, the smells, the laughter and fun. Our Christmas in Australia is much quieter, our family small and spread around. Ah well. Thank you for lovely comment. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

