Angel Wings – Wall Hanging

Wings

I have a little obsession going on with wings at the moment.

After scouring the internet for a while I found a free template to make paper wings.  If you would like to try making some yourself here is the link Angel Wings

This frame was laying idle in my craft room, the glass had been broken some time ago, so I removed the back board and lined it with some thin batting, then covered the batting with hession.

It was a bit of a conundrum as to how I would attach the wings once they were made. The fiishes wings are approximately 6″ long and 2 1/2″ wide.   The solution was to add some strips of thick card to the back, which I built up to give a three dimensional effect. I added some metal elements from my stash (hearts always seem to go hand in hand with wings), this filigree heart was a junk shop find – part of a very unattractive necklace.

I wasn’t sure whether I had finished at this stage so I added some metal corners to the hession but I can’t decide whether they are required or not. What do you think?

Angel Wings

It’s Melbourne Cup Day tomorrow – AKA “the race that stops a nations”.  A public holiday for a horse race, I don’t know!  I’m not a fan of sports which include animals, so I won’t be placing a bet or watching the race.  Whatever you are doing, I hope you have a lovely day. May it also include some crafting time.

Barbara

16 thoughts on “Angel Wings – Wall Hanging

    1. Thank you Heather. I usually make something special each year to go with my Christmas display so I’m looking forward to seeing how this piece will fit in.Xx

      Like

    1. Hi Brigid, lovely to see you here again. Glad you like the template, it’s definitely a keeper and so many opportunities. I see my Julie Nutting dolls coming into use with the wings, before the season is over. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A beautiful piece Barbara.
    Like you, I’m not sure about those corners. They seem to shout louder than the rest of the framed artwork. Maybe because they’re so brilliantly silver.
    BUT … they don’t look ‘wrong’ and if they’re your choice then that’s great because you as the artist know what it is that you’re wanting to put across within the art. Only you know the intended message, and it’s for us to understand it.

    Whatever …. it’s a great bit of art. Well done you clever thing! ~ Cobs. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Cobs, yes, I could possibly have toned them down a bit. It’s an eclectic piece though, and I learn something from the things I make. I did consider adding them to the actual frame as well. Thank you for your thoughts, I am grateful for them.xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely, Barbara – thanks for sharing on this week’s Senior Salon.

    My opinion is no on the “corners” – I think the focus on the wings is enhanced in version #1 (before). The corners seems to unbalance the wings with the metal elements and changes the vertical flow from wings to heart to one where the eye is encouraged to take it all in as a gestalt. Not as effective, in my mind. Simply my opinion, of course.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Madelyn, thank you. I did actually remove the corners this morning. Overall, looking at the two photo’s above the one without the corners is a better composition. I appreciate your comments. Barbara xx

    Like

  4. Barb, thanks for sharing this at the Salon. Creating helps everyone to keep our minds young and creative juices flowing. I hope your posts encourage your readers to do this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

